You can probably access the newsgroups for free. Contact your ISP and ask them. But "free" actually means "included in the monthly subscription", and some ISPs don't provide a very high standard of newsgroup service.
The reason for this, is that it's expensive to do. You need a *lot* of hardware to offer a major newsgroup service. Diana the Valkyrie uses a bunch of terabyte (million megabyte) file servers for this. You also need bandwidth, and you need news administrators, people to look after all this.
In order to provide our higher standard of service, we have to recover the costs. That means $10/month. But that $10/month gets you access to dozens of millions of files.
This costs $10 per month. We'll renew the membership each month until you cancel. This is called "Recurring Billing".
To apply, click here.
There is also a secure server, and you can apply using that.
If you're already a member, and want to cancel, and you know your username and password then you can fill in this handy Cancellation Form.
You can either cancel immediately, or you can just let your current subscription expire, or you can even set up a cancellation to take effect in the future. If you can't use it for any reason, then email us instead and we'll do it.
If you can't remember your username and password, then email us as many details as you can remember from when you signed up. The last six digits of the card that we're blling would be excellent. We have to work out who you are, otherwise we might cancel the wrong person. Here's the email address email@example.com.
If you're already a member, and want to change credit cards, and you know your username and password then you can fill in this handy Change Form.
This might help you get a reminder of your password. If it doesn't, then email firstname.lastname@example.org
This lets you send any message via our Secure Server. of your password. You can also use ordinary email, of course at email@example.com.
Once you've joined, we'll bill you automatically each month, until you cancel. If you cancel by sending an email, then email your username and password, or at least something so we can work out who you are, so we know who to cancel. You can cancel any time, but you'll be billed for any fraction of a period as if it were the full period (month or quarter). So, if you're planning to cancel, don't leave it until the day the billing is done, give us a few days notice.
If you join on the 26th of the month (for example), then your membership will run to the 26th of the next month, then the renewal will run to the 26th of the month after that, and so on.
The best way to cancel is by using this handy cancellation form.
If you cancel by emailing instead, we'll email you back to confirm it. If you email to cancel and hear nothing back, then it's possible we didn't get your email. Or you might have given a return address that didn't work. But if we didn't get your email, then we won't have cancelled your membership. That's why the confirming email is important. So if the confirmation doesn't arrive within a few days, email again. If we still don't respond, then either you got the email address wrong, or you're giving us a return address that doesn't work, so please check both of these. AOL members sometimes set up their accounts so that they can send, but not receive, email from outside AOL. It's better if you use this handy cancellation form. Then we won't send you an email, because the form will give you confirmation when you click on the button to cancel.
If you try to cancel by cancelling your ISP (for example, by cancelling AOL), that doesn't work, because no-one would tell us about it. If you try to cancel by cancelling your credit card, that might not work either! What happens is, we don't know about the cancellation, because your bank doesn't tell us, we continue to bill you, and for reasons we don't understand, some banks accept a billing on a cancelled card. All this applies, of course, to any service you sign up for, not just this one.
So, if you want to cancel, use this handy cancellation form.
We will not mail anything to your street address. You will not be telephoned. We will not pass your details along to another company.
You will get one email from us, confirming that you are on the database and have the access that you requested. You will get no other emails from us, unless you email us with a query or question, or unless there's some problem with your payment.
If you join, and then change your mind, it is probably too late to stop the first billing, because a lot of this is automatic. You should assume that when you click on the button to join, you have committed yourself to joining for at least one month. If you aren't sure that you want to join, think about it some more before clicking that button. On the other hand, if you're almost sure, $10 is not really a lot to risk!
Please read our terms and conditions.
We will NOT give your details, or email address, or anything, to anyone else (except the credit card company). The exception to this is a written request from a police or court authority, in the course of their investigations.